Description for image 1

Georgia Author of the Year Awards at KSU to Honor State's Literary Excellence

Kennesaw, GA - June 19, 2010 -
Kennesaw State University (KSU) will host the 46th annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA) dinner and awards ceremony on Saturday, June 19th in Room 400 of the KSU Center. The KSU Center is located at 3333 Busbee Avenue, Kennesaw, GA 30144.

The dinner begins at 6 PM, and the awards program starts at 7:30 PM. Both events are open to the public, but reservations and a fee are required for dinner. Sponsored by the Georgia Writers Association and KSU's College of Humanities and Social Sciences, the event honors Georgia authors for books published during 2009. The Georgia Author of the Year Awards recognizes Georgia's wealth of outstanding writers, and celebrates the state's rich literary heritage. Steve Goss, host of Atlanta Public Broadcasting's Morning Edition, will serve as emcee of the event.

All Georgia-resident authors who have been published during 2009 are eligible for the awards, whether traditionally or independently published. There are 102 nominations this year in award categories including fiction, first novel, creative non-fiction, history, essay, biography, memoir, poetry, children's picture books, children's mid-reader, and young adult literature.

For dinner reservations, information about the awards and nominees, and directions to the KSU Center, please visit or contact Lisa Russell at (770) 420-4736 or [email protected]

Georgia Author of the Year Awards Banquet
The GAYA Banquet begins at 6PM on Saturday, June, 19, 2010. The banquet buffet is being catered by Endive. Dinner music by John J. Russell will accompany the meal. Nominees and the general public are invited to make reservation and attend this event. Reservation deadline is midnight June 8, 2010. To order online.
46th Georgia Author of the Year Awards Ceremony

The Ceremony
Following the GAYA Banquet at 7:30PM, Steve Goss will hand out the 13 Georgia Author of the Year Awards. Steve Goss is Atlanta's NPR Morning Edition host and told Georgia Writers Association that it was a great honor for him to MC this year's event. Please let us know you are coming so we can reserve enough seats for the Ceremony.
About the Georgia Author of the Year Awards
The awards were created in 1964 by the founders of the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists, later becoming the Council of Authors and Journalists. The Georgia Writers Association assumed responsibility for the Georgia Author of the Year Awards in the 1990s under the directorship of Geri Taran. The Georgia Writers Association is now sponsored by and housed on the Kennesaw State University campus, under the executive directorship of Dr. Ralph T. Wilson. The Georgia Author of the Year Awards remains the oldest literary awards in the southeastern United States. More about the GAYA is on our new Georgia Author of the Year Awards website.

About Georgia Writers Association
Georgia Writers Association is a nonprofit,501(c)(3) organization that works across the state to encourage and strengthen the proficiencies of writers in both the creative and the business aspects of the writing life. We do this through an array of speakers and programs at regular meetings. GWA sponsors workshops, conferences, seminars, contests and other events. We encourage the formation of satellite groups, critique groups, and other writer resource groups. We encourage the funding of guest authors to various Georgia counties.Our online publications are an attempt to educate and inform the diverse literary community of Georgia.Accomplished Georgia writers are recognized through the Georgia Author of the Year Awards. More information about GWA and Membership.

Organization Type: