Description for image 1

Trendy Topics 2010: Social Networking for Libraries

Alliance Library System and TAP Information Services
Announce Trendy Topics 2010: Social Networking for Libraries!

Start your New Year right with a resolution to keep up with quickly changing library trends! Alliance Library System and TAP Information Services are pleased to announce a dynamic monthly series of online workshops you can enjoy right at your desktop on these hot topics.

The first conference on Social Software for Libraries is scheduled for Tuesday, February 9. Meredith Farkas of Norwich University and columnist for American Libraries, will be the opening keynote speaker at 11:00 A.M. Eastern Time, 10:00 Central, 9:00 Mountain, and 8:00 Pacific. She will address “Building Collaboration, Participation, and Community in Libraries.” Farkas will talk about how social software is opening up new opportunities for reaching out to patrons, providing library services, and transforming our websites.

Other speakers for this inspiring day-long conference include:
Lauren Jensen talking about “Facebook and Libraries”
Joe Murphy speaking on “Twitter’s Impact on Libraries”
Rhonda Trueman talking about “Social and Professional Networking in Second Life: What We Didn’t Expect”
Beth Duttlinger on “Technology Training Wheels”
Rebecca Teasdale on “Using YouTube to Promote Libraries”
Alison Miller on “Delicious and Other Tagging Technologies”
Matt Gullett on “Participate in the Story”
Cynthia Hart on “Social Metrics”

A full informational flyer can be found at http://www.alliancelibrarysystem.com/TrendyTopics/workshop1February9.pdf.

This is the first workshop in a series planned by ALS and TAP Information Services. Alliance Library System Executive Director Kitty Pope is internationally recognized for her annual Library Trends Report (http://www.alliancelibrarysystem.com/TrendsReport.cfm) which discusses the latest trends and how they affect libraries.

“ We wanted to take the Trends Report to the next step and create a forum and community for ongoing discussion and recognition of the wonderful work librarians are doing in these areas,” stated Pope. “With this series, librarians can both read about and have the opportunity to interact with experts, movers, and shakers in these areas.”

Register at http://www.eventbee.com/view/trendytopics/event?eid=65537

Registration for librarians for the one day conference is $40; for students $30; and for groups $100.

For more information on these workshops please contact Lori Bell at ALS, [email protected] or Tom Peters at TAP Information Services at [email protected].

Alliance Library System is one of nine regional library systems in Illinois serving 260 libraries of all types in a 14,000 square mile area.
TAP Information Services (www.tapinformation.com) helps organizations innovate.

Topics: 
Intended Audience: 
Organization Type: